Trade-offs between what is right and what keeps a person sane. If the whole world is corrupt and inconsistent, the pattern-seekers will endlessly be frustrated. I was very taken by the idea that Quantum Indeterminacy leaves room for God, due to the impossibility of a complete chain of causation (because of Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle). University life is constraining and irritating. Being morally accountable to others who see me as a role model is a heavy way to live; almost a kind of eternal return, as suggested by Nietzsche and explored in The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Kundera), except the return is that one’s ideas are always reincarnated in othe lives of intellectual and spiritual progeny.
Additionally, I have an instinctive distrust of what is popular. Although this is probably a good way to keep up the governance, I like to think that my role is to always think in ways alternative to the ways prescribed by those with power. On the one hand, I do not accept the authority of secretive, elitist organizations (I just started reading Eco’s Il Pendolo di Foucault), but on the other I do not accept the authority of the masses of humanity in telling me how to live my life. Ultimately, only God is a trustworthy guide for learning how to live one’ s life.
An interesting Cabalist quotation: “When the Light of the Endless was drawn in the form of a straight line in the Void… it was not drawn and extended immediately downwards, indeed it extended slowly — that is to say, at first the Line of Light began to extend and at the very start of its extension in the secret of the Line it was drawn and shaped into a wheel, perfectly circular all around.
I continue to be fascinated with the concept of Global Citizenship (Internationalist Magazine, lying around campus). Samantha Stanley is working on a thesis about this. Additionally, I picked up a couple of new threads along the webs of adventures and bluegrass music. J. Michael Fay, the megatransect guy, and Steep Canyon Rangers.
So much to learn, yet so hard to study.
Oh, and don’t forget about the Flying Spaghetti Monster– a REAL alternative to Intelligent Design. See the first paragraph if you have trouble reconciling theism with evolutionary explanations for natural history.

