The other day I got really pissed off thinking about how many intelligent people are lazy. I think I got a little too angry, but at the same time I think if you have a talent you are obligated to use it for the improvement of the human condition. By this I mean, how can anyone with intelligence sit around doing nothing while millions of people around the world live in abject poverty, and environmental destruction proceeds at an unprecedented rate? On the other hand, many ultra-genius types throughout history claim that drug use “enhances” or “complements” their ability to think. So since I haven’t tried drugs maybe I shouldn’t judge them. It’s a fine line to walk between social tolerance and the desire to admonish those you care about so that their lives will be healthier. An appropriate quotation from Matthew Henry’s Bible Commentary:
1 The words of king Lemuel, the prophecy that his mother taught him. 2 What, my son? and what, the son of my womb? and what, the son of my vows? 3 Give not thy strength unto women, nor thy ways to that which destroyeth kings. 4 It is not for kings, O Lemuel, it is not for kings to drink wine; nor for princes strong drink: 5 Lest they drink, and forget the law, and pervert the judgment of any of the afflicted. 6 Give strong drink unto him that is ready to perish, and wine unto those that be of heavy hearts. 7 Let him drink, and forget his poverty, and remember his misery no more. 8 Open thy mouth for the dumb in the cause of all such as are appointed to destruction. 9 Open thy mouth, judge righteously, and plead the cause of the poor and needy. PROVERBS 31:1-9

